The GameBoy Advance used to grace our childhood days with game titles like Pokémon and Grand Theft Auto. With smartphones gaining momentum in the industry nowadays, game consoles gradually decreased in popularity and eventually, lost its luster. If I can remember it right… I used to play the Pokémon Blue and Pokémon Diamond version on my game console when I was a kid. Just like me, you might be looking at the best GameBoy advanced emulators with nostalgia and wishes to revisit the games it offered back then. Lucky for us, we can go back to our glory days just by using our own mobile device! But how? We just have to download a GameBoy Advance emulator and start reliving our childhood. Being a Pokémon fan, I still want to play Pokémon games on my phone using a GBA emulator. I’ve decided to try the Pokémon Emerald version as I haven’t played it before (or maybe I forgot about it). I’ll be using several GameBoy Advance emulators and telling you what’s the best and the worst about each one.

Best GameBoy Advanced Emulators

Please note that I only tested the free versions of these GBA emulators.

1. John GBA

The John GBA emulator may sound strange but at the very least, its performance will move us to pat the developer’s back (purportedly named John). Kidding aside, John GBA is easily one of the best GBA emulators. The GBA emulator aims to make the experience as authentic as possible by using the original GBA engine that was used in the game console. Of course, you’ll be using your smartphone all this time, but still get that authentic experience you want.

Pros

The John GBA is built on a simple interface and is user-friendly.The emulator uses the original GBA engine for an authentic experience.Users can opt to slow down and speed up the game anytime.It has on-screen controls, auto search, cheat codes, and works in offline mode.It supports cloud backup via DropBox.The paid version costs cheap and can guarantee an ad-free experience.

Cons

No support for a hardware controller.Ads can be annoying on the free version.

Download the free version: Download the paid version:

2. My Boy

Another popular GBA emulator available on the Google Play Store, My Boy is compatible with tons of GBA ROMs and is downloaded by hundreds of thousands of players around the world. GBA games play smoothly on the My Boy emulator. The features available on My Boy include a superior link cable support, high game compatibility, fast forward and slow down modes, cheat codes, hardware controller support, BIOS emulation, and OpenGL rendering for better graphics.

Pros

My Boy boasts a smooth gaming experience.There’s a ton of features on offer.It comes with support for a hardware controller.It is compatible with a wide range of smartphones.The emulator comes with a link cable emulation support.It has quick save options and support for cheat codes.Decent developer support and frequent updates.

Cons

None.

3. Emulator for GBA 2

The Emulator For GBA 2 is yet another simple option among the emulators available in the Google Play Store. It doesn’t bring anything special to the table but can still function as an emulator just fine. There are some advanced features you could only find on paid versions that are offered by this emulator. For instance, it comes with a support for a link cable emulation, cheat codes, and quick save mode.

Pros

Its simple interface makes it easier to use for beginners.The Emulator for GBA 2 allows users to integrate cheat codes.It has quick save support and lets you load/save the game anytime.The emulator supports link cable emulation.It can be downloaded from the Google Play Store for free.

Cons

Ads can get annoying and alter the gaming experience.

How to Add Cheat Codes

The GBA emulators above all promise cheat code compatibility so it’s my turn to test it out. I opted to add cheat codes on the Pokemon Emerald game using the My Boy emulator. Check this out!

Step 1

Open the My Boy emulator and load the Pokemon Emerald ROM.

Step 2

Once the game loads, look for the Menu icon on the top part.

Step 3

Click the Menu icon and you should choose the Cheats option.

Step 4

Tap New Cheats. You should now see the Cheat name, Cheat type, and Cheat Code menus.

Step 5

I searched the web and found several cheats. I recommend the website Pokémon Coders because their cheat codes are all working. The site’s interface is easy to use and you can immediately spot the code you want to integrate into your game.

Step 6

I tried to use the Max Attack cheat which would make my Pokemon attack at its maximum level. I named the cheat as Max Attack.

Step 7

Next, I clicked the Cheat type and a drop-down menu popped up. I chose GameShark v3 (Action Replay) as instructed on the site. You shouldn’t worry about this one because most cheat codes available in the web also specify the cheat type.

Step 8

Then, I copied the cheat code from the website and typed it in Cheat Code space. Make sure that you have copied the right code and you won’t make any bit of mistake. Remember that the code is case-sensitive.

Step 9

After you have filled in the necessary information, don’t forget to click Save.

Step 10

This is how my Cheats menu looked like after I typed in several cheat codes. After I entered the cheat codes, this is what my Pokemon battle looks like: Related Reads:

How to Run Gameboy Advance Games on Android20 Best Emulators for Android To Play Your Favorite Games7 Best Emulators Online You Must Know for Android

[grsr_faq]

What is a GameBoy Advance emulator?

GameBoy Advance emulators let the users play GBA games on their mobile devices.

Yes, but GBA ROMs are not.

What’s the best GBA emulator for Android?

Among all the GBA emulators crowding the tech space, the following apps are considered to be the best, especially for beginners. These have possessed simple to elaborate interfaces that require testing. Without further ado, let’s have them checked.

Can I download a GBA emulator on my PC then move it to my phone?

Yes, you can. But you must use the software on your PC to run the apk file.

Can I download a GBA emulator on my phone and transfer it to my computer?

Yes, as long as the GBA emulator is compatible with your computer.

Can I get GBA emulator cheats?

Yes, you can. Most GBA emulators support cheat codes.

Is it possible to get a Nintendo 3DS emulator for Android?

Just like the GameBoy Advance, you can also get a Nintendo 3DS emulator for Android. [/grsr_faq]

My Conclusion

All of those emulators mentioned above are good in their own way with some of them excelling in their field. Whichever one you choose, you’ll surely be sent back to your glory days and ease the longing you have on the GBA games. Which one is the best GBA emulator for you? Do you still have more questions? Tell us in the comment, then share this post on your favorite social media platforms.

The 3 Best GameBoy Advanced Emulators  With Cheat Links  - 35The 3 Best GameBoy Advanced Emulators  With Cheat Links  - 20The 3 Best GameBoy Advanced Emulators  With Cheat Links  - 54The 3 Best GameBoy Advanced Emulators  With Cheat Links  - 21The 3 Best GameBoy Advanced Emulators  With Cheat Links  - 7The 3 Best GameBoy Advanced Emulators  With Cheat Links  - 56The 3 Best GameBoy Advanced Emulators  With Cheat Links  - 32The 3 Best GameBoy Advanced Emulators  With Cheat Links  - 23The 3 Best GameBoy Advanced Emulators  With Cheat Links  - 15The 3 Best GameBoy Advanced Emulators  With Cheat Links  - 38The 3 Best GameBoy Advanced Emulators  With Cheat Links  - 1The 3 Best GameBoy Advanced Emulators  With Cheat Links  - 82The 3 Best GameBoy Advanced Emulators  With Cheat Links  - 17The 3 Best GameBoy Advanced Emulators  With Cheat Links  - 12