Now you may roll your eyes because OtterBox always seems to pop up on these reviews, or maybe you don’t want to pay the hefty price tag, but the Note 3 options are limited in my opinion, because the device is so big it’s easier to break and you can’t hold onto it as easy as a smaller phone. Let’s take a look at my OtterBox Defender Series case review to see if the case is right for your phone. Our Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

The Good

The OtterBox slides on nicely and includes three layers to protect your phone through just about anything. It protects your screen against scratches and keeps out all the dust and contaminants. You receive a holster as a bonus, and I really like how you have easy access to all of the ports and buttons.

The Bad

This OtterBox model is not waterproof, so I don’t think your shower singing is worthwhile. The case actually has some trouble sliding in and out of pockets, and according to the OtterBox website it does not protect your phone from crushing. This means that if you slam a rock on your phone it probably won’t survive. The case is also a bit pricey.

The Bottom Line

The Otterbox Defender Series for the Note 3 does its job and more. You receive the option to choose from numerous colors, which isn’t always the case for OtterBox. With the OtterBox name you can almost guarantee that your phone is safe, and it better be with the hefty price tag. I’d say it’s worth the money, but that all depends on the person and how much you spent on your phone.

Style From OtterBox? – 5 out of 5 stars

It’s not often I’m amazed at the colors and styles that come from OtterBox, but the Defender series delivers where it counts. You get to choose from six different colors options, but they aren’t just your standard red, black and blue. They offer colors like ocean and blaze orange. I stuck with the grey and white option, because I’m boring like that, but you have the chance to get flashy with this OtterBox.

  The OtterBox Defender case carries a strong image, with several layers to show that you are not planning on breaking your phone. The case looks slightly futuristic, with the standard stylings you can expect from OtterBox. I like the rough exterior, which gives it a more rustic look, as opposed to the matte finishes I am starting to get sick of.

No Other Protection Alternative – 5 out of 5 stars

Let’s face it, this case comes from OtterBox, so there’s a good chance it protects the phone from a meteor shower. When I slid on the case I noticed it fit onto the Note 3 with ease, offering a snug fit so that there were no spaces in between where dirt might be able to slip in. It also slid off nice in case you needed to clean it or show your friends the case. This has a two-piece polycarbonate inner shell which isn’t as bulky as I thought it would be. When you get the three layers onto the phone it seems like there is only one layer fit snugly onto the phone. I dropped the phone a few times on my desk and it protected the Note 3 nicely. Waves of drop tests can be found online for the OtterBox Defender Series, and the results are exceptional.

Button Pushing and Port Access 5 out of 5 stars

I’ve noticed that sometimes with OtterBox cases I have trouble fitting cables into their ports or pushing buttons because the cases are so thick. Although the case adds friction and bulk to the phone, causing it to stick in your pocket too much, it actually uses the openings quite well. All of my cables fit into the ports nicely, and I didn’t have to struggle to open up the flaps that cover the ports.

Like stated before, some OtterBox cases make it tough to push down the buttons. I noticed one review online that said he had problems with this, but during my OtterBox Defender Series case review I found it smooth and flawless when changing the volume and navigating through my phone. The built-in screen protector also allows you to click the screen just fine. I didn’t see any lag or problems when trying to navigate with the screen protector on.

Bang for Your Buck – 4 out of 5 stars

I only have a few words about the value of this case because you’d be silly to think that it isn’t worth the money. Sure it makes you cringe for a second when you almost shell out $40 or $50 for a case, but what is that phone really worth to you? There’s a good chance you drop your phone at some point along the way, so why not spend the extra few bucks instead of having to buy a brand new replacement phone for $400?

Another cool thing is that you get the belt clip with your OtterBox Defender Series case. I’m not a huge fan of these, but I’m sure plenty of folks would find these useful. Overall, it just adds to the value.

Conclusion

Let me know in the comments section if you have any questions about my OtterBox Defender Series case review. I’ve pushed this Note 3 case to the limit and found that you really can’t go wrong with OtterBox. Sure you might find it a little clunky or pricey, but this is a trade-off you have to make in order to truly protect your phone. What’s next? Learn about rooting the Galaxy Note 3. You might even want to snap a screenshot on the phone to push its usability.

OtterBox Defender Series Case Review  Samsung Galaxy Note 3    JoyofAndroid - 20OtterBox Defender Series Case Review  Samsung Galaxy Note 3    JoyofAndroid - 79OtterBox Defender Series Case Review  Samsung Galaxy Note 3    JoyofAndroid - 77OtterBox Defender Series Case Review  Samsung Galaxy Note 3    JoyofAndroid - 97OtterBox Defender Series Case Review  Samsung Galaxy Note 3    JoyofAndroid - 7OtterBox Defender Series Case Review  Samsung Galaxy Note 3    JoyofAndroid - 15OtterBox Defender Series Case Review  Samsung Galaxy Note 3    JoyofAndroid - 62OtterBox Defender Series Case Review  Samsung Galaxy Note 3    JoyofAndroid - 81