It all started back when Facebook introduced games and Zynga launched Farmville. It was a harmless little browser based game that my cousins started playing. It had taken no time at all before their posts started appearing on my wall with alarming frequency. I was already hooked on Mafia Wars, another Facebook game so I jumped into Farmville as well. My farm soon became the best among my peers, partially because I had no time for aesthetics and partially because I was a college student with a ton of time on hands. Farming games on Android are similar to those found on the retired Facebook gaming scene. Sure you can log into your laptop or PC to play the games as well. However, you won’t be getting push notifications telling you to milk the cows on your PC. If you are into the full experience, also try out the fishing games for Android. Note: The best farm games for Android were tested on a Samsung Galaxy Note III smartphone. Almost all of the games on this list require an active internet connection to work properly. The games performed well, and no problems were faced during testing. The apps are in no particular order.

1. Fairy Farm

Fairy Farm is a really popular farm game for Android with young girls. Several of my nieces are seen playing it and are enjoying a lot. But one of the best things about this game is, unlike others, it doesn’t need an internet connection to work. The updates are fairly regular and new objects and animals are constantly added to the game. There are more than 150 plants and trees to plant and farm in this game. Fairy Farm also comes with an astounding 400 animals which include dragons, unicorns and flying ponies. The graphics are OK, nothing special but they do a good job. Free Version

2. FarmVille 2: Country Escape

This is the series that captured a lot of people into its stranglehold of addiction. I was fairly addicted to the game back in the day, so I was highly cautious of playing this one. Thankfully I am a much stronger person now, and it was easy not getting sucked into the rabbit hole again. FarmVille 2, however, has improved a lot since the last iteration. The touch-based controls are amazingly implemented. You no longer have to tap on the square at a time to plant seeds or farm. The developers have certainly thought out the whole Android implementation, and the result is a stellar farming experience. Free Version

3. Farm Story™

You may think that farm games for Android won’t have any tangible story, but this one game comes with one. Don’t get me wrong, there is no sprawling narrative behind the game, it is still fundamentally a farm game. However, the nice touch of including an intro animation makes it all the more endearing. While a ton of farm games look exactly alike, Farm Story stands a little out when it comes to great art style. The graphics are purely 2D, but the cuteness factor is turned to 10. The animals especially look adorable. There are more than 150 varieties of fruits, vegetables and flowers for you to plant and harvest. There are also social features that make the game more rewarding if your friends are also into these games. Free Version

4. Hay Day

Hay Day is the most popular among all the farm games for Android I have tested. I was introduced to the game by a friend who likes to milk cows at work. Honestly, I was expected another 2D game with same old visuals but Hay Day blew me away. I don’t know if the game used fully 3D rendered objects or not but it sure gives a meaty illusion of that. The graphs are marvelous, and even I had a great time testing the game out. Granted I only played for around 20 minutes, the game is still on my phone says a lot about it. Customization is another big aspect of the game. You can truly make the game follow your distinct design style and personality. Free Version

Conclusion

The farm games for Android all offer something unique, but the differences are not that many. I tested around 15 different farming games for Android, and they were all remarkably same. Some even lifted the control mechanics from the popular titles and called it a day. If I were to select one farm game for myself, it would be Hay Day. The game is immensely popular and hence gets a ton of updates regularly. So what is your personal favorite farming game? Plant your comments below.

Farm Games for Android   Grow Your Own Digital Acres of Fun   JoyofAndroid - 56Farm Games for Android   Grow Your Own Digital Acres of Fun   JoyofAndroid - 75Farm Games for Android   Grow Your Own Digital Acres of Fun   JoyofAndroid - 27Farm Games for Android   Grow Your Own Digital Acres of Fun   JoyofAndroid - 88