I started looking for a new assistant when I was getting increasingly disappointed by the pre-installed Samsung virtual assistant; this led me to Assistant the app. Instantly I knew that Assistant is going to be a permanent part of my life. I’ll be honest, while I can write and speak English very well, I still have a lingering accent. Most of the virtual assistants I’ve tried were great, but sometimes they had trouble deciphering what I said. Assistant, however, has never let me down in almost two years of usage. I even whisper the alarm settings to it in bed, and it still works like a charm. Now that I have gushed all over this virtual assistant app for Android, I’ll start with the actual review.

The Good

Assistant does so much right that this section could take up all the space on this review. For starters, it can actually listen to you even if you have an accent or just eating food. It also works in traffic and at weddings. The app is capable of doing almost anything for you instantly. Want to know what time is it in Tokyo? The app can give you all the right answers.

The Bad

Well, there is almost nothing bad about the app. However, I would like to see some improvements. The app can certainly benefit from fewer ads and more information. I would theoretically purchase the premium version but still the ads on the free one are intrusive. I don’t mind ads on a good app; I just hate where they are placed in this one.

The Bottom Line

I would go as far as to say that this is the best Android virtual assistant app. Well, I’ve already said that in the best Siri like apps for Android list. If you are looking for a great working assistant which actually helps you achieve your daily routine, this is the definitive app to get.

Installation and First Boot

Installing Assistant is the same process that you’ve followed countless times. Go to the Google Play Store page and click install. The app will be downloaded on your smartphone or tablet in a little while. The app is average in size so it might take a bit longer than your usual apps. After the app is installed, you can launch it from your notification panel or app drawer. You will be taken to an obligatory login screen. Thankfully you can login with Google+ or Facebook as well as your standard email ID. There is no welcome screen though, which is a shame. I would have liked to see some kind of tutorial, but this is one place where Assistant didn’t deliver.

Interface and Design

The interface of Assistant is fairly simple. The assistant is displayed right in the middle of the screen. I don’t think the image is necessary for the app to work and could be eliminated. But, after using other assistants I think I like to put a face on the voice coming out of my device. You can change almost every aspect of the avatar though or even make one yourself. On the bottom of the screen is the mic button. You will need to press it to speak to the Assistant. On the bottom of the screen is the mic button. You will need to press it to speak to the Assistant. There are multiple options to eliminate the need for pushing the button though, so you are covered there as well.  All in all, this is a very neat and clean interface with no jarring visual elements. I would have liked to change the background color, but the standard blue is fine as well.

Features

Try and think of something that your Assistant should be able to do, this app will do it. I have tested the app for a long time and it almost always delivers. It knows when your contact’s birthdays are, it knows when to remind you of your anniversary. It can interact with other apps on your smartphone too. It can also:

Get information on the internet.Set alarms.Take handy notes for you.

Well, you know what I’m getting at. Here is what the app answers when you ask, “What can you do for me?”

Usability

Using the app is a breeze. I have never seen any app respond so well to my voice. Even the Microsoft Kinect which is a dedicated piece of hardware jumbles up my words. Assistant does a remarkable job of keeping everything in check and under control. The app works well in noisy areas too. Although it will have a hard time identifying your voice from a roaring crowd. What I mean to say is that the app will fail you in the middle of a basketball game. Also, what would you use your phone for during the game?

Permissions

The app will take a look at everything on your phone. But that is OK, it is supposed to do that. You wouldn’t like when you tell the Assistant to open the gallery and it says, permission not granted. Same goes for sending an email. Or taking a note for that matter, even on a dedicated note taking app. Rest assured everything the app wants is justified.

Conclusion

The app is one of the best productivity apps on Android, and it shows. I’m not easily impressed, but even I was unable to resist the charm of Assistant. I would wholeheartedly recommend this app to each and every Android user. Even if you think that you don’t need a virtual assistant on your phone, you’ll be forced to change your mind after trying this app out. If you have any questions or are facing any problems, do ask them in the comments below.

Assistant App Review Android  The Daily Guide   JoyofAndroid - 75Assistant App Review Android  The Daily Guide   JoyofAndroid - 3Assistant App Review Android  The Daily Guide   JoyofAndroid - 35Assistant App Review Android  The Daily Guide   JoyofAndroid - 45Assistant App Review Android  The Daily Guide   JoyofAndroid - 61Assistant App Review Android  The Daily Guide   JoyofAndroid - 86Assistant App Review Android  The Daily Guide   JoyofAndroid - 17